Return to Slackerville, New Year’s Style

Sorry for the horribly long delay. I’ve been desperately trying to get myself organized and not being terribly successful at it. Too many adjectives? I think not.

Let’s see, where did I leave off? Oh right, telling the New Year and it’s resolutions to suck it because I got a head start. Well, I didn’t quite hit the 5 pounds lost that I was hoping for, but I was still under where I started. (Note to self: do not drink an entire bottle of champagne by yourself the night before you’re going to weigh-in. It’s not going to turn out well)

Original weight -11/20- 221 pounds
Week 1-   11/27-   220.2 pounds
Week 2-   12/04-   222.8 pounds
Week 3-   12/11-   220 pounds
Week 4-   12/18-   219.2 pounds
Week 5-   12/24-   217.8 pounds
Week 6-    01/01/12- 218.6 pounds

Every little win helps. And since then, even though my workouts haven’t been what they should be, I’m down even more…

My best friend or that bitchy friend that lies to you and makes fun of you behind your back? Only time will tell...

I made the Hubby stand on it too, because I felt like it was lying to me. Although, I suppose if my scale is going to lie to me, at least it’s telling me happy lies. Hmmm, maybe it’s been talking to MapMyRun (which also frequently lies to me).

The Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge put on by Amanda at Run to the Finish finished up. My points weren’t great (finished with under 100), but the motivation to be able to add something each week (once I figured out when the weeks were. I’m such a dumb ass sometimes) kept me going. So a HUGE THANK YOU to Amanda for all of the time, money, effort, and encouragement that she put into setting this up. It was a wonderful experience and has enabled me to meet some new bloggers! Win-win. If you’re looking for continued motivation, go check out her site, she’s setting a 30-day challenge every month.

New Year’s Eve was spent by getting up early to run 14 miles with the girls. That’s right, I said 14 miles. Now there is no question in my mind that I can finish my half marathon in May.  My knees, unfortunately, weren’t quite so happy with that revelation.

Hubby takes his job as photographer very seriously. At least I got the ice bags first.

A bottle of champagne and some sleep later, I was at it again for M3S’s First on the First 5K. As always, they put on a wonderful race with a relatively gentle course that was well staffed with supportive volunteers. Extra bonus- a New Year’s Day feast-lunch! Yay for real food! Don’t get me wrong, I love me some bananas and bagels and chocolate milk, but I will never turn down pulled pork sandwiches. Yummy in my tummy. And Hubby was grateful for being fed too. It’s hard work being the photographer. Ask him, he’ll tell you.

Now, usually I go into each race with some sort of goal in mind.  For this one I had hoped to get under 40 minutes, which would be a full 2 minute improvement from my last 5K back in July.  Under normal circumstances I would consider this a perfectly reasonable goal, but I was a bit concerned with how tired my legs still felt from the 14 miles the previous day.  Apparently, I didn’t need to be concerned. Guess who picked up a new PR of 37:04! That’s right, this girl! What better way of feeling like you’re truly making progress than to set a reasonable goal, and then shatter it by a couple extra minutes! Next stop, sub-35.

Pre-Race shivers. Of the cold variety. No really, it was kinda cold that morning.

Barreling towards the finish line in triumph! Complete with Rock Hands! Aw, yea!

My goal for 2012? Coming up with as many goofy-ass picture poses as possible.

Strength training has been going alright, I’m still only getting in about twice a week. I’d really like that to be three times a week, and running 3-4 times a week. But now I also need to start working in some triathlon training and things are just getting complicated. These are things that I really want to do, but I don’t want to have to sacrifice having a life for all this training. I’m working out a training plan and a race schedule, and will hopefully get it posted here soon.

Anyone else out there training for more than one thing? Any tips on getting all of it in and not losing your mind?

4 thoughts on “Return to Slackerville, New Year’s Style

  1. museikchik says:

    Congrats on the new PR and the weight loss!!! Totally stoked for you!!!

  2. thewondermya says:

    You are an inspiration, love your goofy pose, can I join the goofy pose club for 2012 ? thanks for sharing your journey !

Leave a Reply

