I’m Not Dead Yet…

Holy crap, it’s already December! Sorry about that.  Didn’t mean to drop off the face of the earth, it just kinda happened. Lots of things to get done, and usually not enough time to get them all done, so if something has to go by the wayside, it’s the blogging.  Plus, my laptop kept forgetting to bring along the power cord every time we went somewhere. Very embarrassing…

Hmm, well, let’s start with a brief Thanksgiving recap.  On Thanksgiving day Mom and I ran the Flying Feather 4 miler, which was loads of fun. We ran/walked it together, and Mom PR’d by 4 minutes. (Yay for Mom!) The course was very nice and wound through the Glacier Ridge Metro Park up in Dublin.  It was a bit cold starting out, but my lion hat kept me warm.

Pre-Race with Mom and my lion hat.

We did not actually wear our coats running. I promise. Running together made it a lot more fun when we went through the wooded area, and both thought about “The Wizard of Oz” and then promptly started doing the “Follow the Yellow Brick Road” dance/walk together.  Don’t even pretend like you don’t know what I’m talking about…

As far as race swag goes, this one was pretty damn good. We got a hat and gloves with our race packets, and then at the end, a bottle of wine with the usual post-race food.  A whole bottle. EACH! We had one with Thanksgiving dinner, and are keeping the other for Christmas. That’s planning!

See that handful of bananas? I think the fruit people are starting to recognize me...

That Turkey was on his 4th bottle.

Hmmm, what else has been going on? Oh, yea, the Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge! Well, we’re already into Week 3 and, to be totally honest, I have not really been on top of it. Week One I managed 13 points, but Week Two I only managed 6. Not good. And I still haven’t gotten 7 servings of fruits and veggies in for bonus points (not yet anyway. I think I am going to hit it today!) A little disappointing, but I’m hoping going to get it together and my new goal is to have more points every week from here on out. And to hit that fruit/veggie point at least twice a week.

Did you know that even when you fall off the face of the earth, they still have scales there? Weird, right? But I was able to weigh myself on Sundays, even if I never got around to posting it. Here’s where we currently are:

11/20-221lbs-original weight
11/27- 220.2lbs
12/4- 222.8lbs

Thanksgiving didn’t get me, but that holiday party definitely did. I have not done any new body measurements, I was thinking that made more sense to do monthly, so expect that with the Christmas edition.

Other stuff I need to work on:
– Posting my workouts on Dailymile more consistently.  I need to be posting them the day of, not several days later. That’s just lazy.
-Getting more workouts in each week. I’ve still only gotten in 2-3 a week total, usually one running, one strength, and maybe 1 extra day. Just not good enough for me.
-Getting up in the mornings.  This is a really big challenge for me. Unfortunately I have come to the conclusion that morning workouts are the only way that I’m going to see the results that I want to see. I’m still working out the details of that workout plan, but I’ll let you know so you can kick my ass if I’m not sticking to it. Deal?

In other news, my race year is done. I was hoping to get in one more race, but time and money will not allow it. Ah well. It was still a damn good year for someone who has never seriously run before. My ability isn’t where I would like it to be, but that’s what time and good friends to drag you out into the cold are for. 😉

Edit: I did not, in fact, weigh in at 22 pounds. There needed to be another 2 in there. Fixed.

Leave a Reply

