Goal Setting- Round 1

It’s taken a bit of time to get my thoughts together on this whole thing. Even longer to actually sit down and put it into writing. But here we all are with about 6 weeks to go until New Year’s Day when we all magically get our annual refill of will-power, and spend it all in the first 2 months of the year. I’m kinda over that, so I’m going in with a new plan.

I’m going to ambush New Year’s Day. I’m going to go into the new year having already lost weight.  That’s right, I threw down. Take that Baby New Year.

I'm expecting a big celebration Happy. Get on that.

And every good plan needs goals. So I’m going to list my goals here, so that you can all see them and help me stay on track.  Because if I’ve learned anything over the last several months, you need people to help you stay on track. So Thank You, in advance.

Unfortunately, you kinda need to know where you are to know where you’re headed, so that means that I’m going to have to share my current vitals so that I can compare later on. I’ll spare you the picture (for now…)

Current weight- 221 pounds
Waist- 38 inches
Hips-
49 inches
Bust-
42 inches
Biceps-
left 15.5 inches, right 15 inches
Thighs-
27 inches (both)
Calves-
17 inches

Now you (and I) know.  It’s all rather heartbreaking to see the actual numbers. It’s also a little bit liberating sharing this information with other people. It’s easier to ignore if it’s a secret that only you know.

As for the goals, I debated on the best way to organize this. One really big list, or a few sub-categories. I finally decided on sub-categories that all ultimately tie back into the bigger picture of getting healthy and living a happy life.  So, without further ado…

Weight Loss

Goal Weight- 140 pounds
Goal Size- 12 in pants, Medium in shirts

This is the weight that I’ve been chasing for 10 years. This is the weight that I was at when I was my most athletic. I know that it’s just a number, but it symbolizes a different life, one that I let slip away.

To help reach this goal, I’ve set some sub-goals to mark the road.

Running Goals
-Run 3-4 times a week, including one long run a week
-Follow a proper training program
-Complete a half marathon (that would be Capital City 2012)
-Eventually run a 10 minute mile

Strength Goals
-Strength train 3-4 times a week
-Be able to do a proper pushup (no knees)
-Be able to do a pull-up (if you can do one of those, you are a bad-ass)

Eating Goals
-Keep a food journal- necessary for this particular adventure
-Fix most meals at home (vague, I know, I’m still working out those details)

And finally, my big athletic goal for 2012:

Complete a TRIATHLON

oh yea, I'm going there...

I also have a few only-mildly-related goals:

-Post on the blog more frequently
-Take more pictures (I almost always have my camera, and almost always forget to take any pictures)
-Work on being more technologically adept (my blog is kinda boring, thanks for continuing to come back) and update the blog’s look
-Figure out Twitter (really, I still don’t entirely get it)

Oh. I almost forgot to mention the things that I have done to help myself succeed:

-Re-joined my gym. When you’re not going very frequently (read: ever) it doesn’t make sense to keep paying for it. So I didn’t. But now I am again.  My gym of choice is Urban Active. If you’re in the Columbus area and need a workout buddy, let me know.

-Joined the Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge 2011. This is put on by Amanda through her blog Run To The Finish. Her goal is to help herself and others stay on track through the holidays when it is easiest to make excuses. There’s a point system and prizes and lots of other people to lean on for support. If you’re looking for something to help keep you focused through the holidays, you should join up. If you’re looking for a great athlete and all around cool person to read about and learn from, check out her blog.

-Found some like-minded people to train with as we all work towards our own goals. Strength in numbers, right?

These chicks are bad-asses

My triathlon partner-in-crime

I will be updating you on my goals weekly, probably on Sundays. Some of the long-term goals will probably only get updated monthly for a while.

2012 is gonna kick ass…

3 thoughts on “Goal Setting- Round 1

  1. Lynde says:

    I LOVE this entire blog!! Great goals, great plan to reach those goals!

  2. […] Goal Setting- Round 1 (chubbychickrunning.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:ShareEmailFacebookStumbleUponTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

