Race Recap: Buckeye Classic 10K 2011

If you’re ever wondering where you can go in central Ohio to find some hills, they are keeping them all at Highbanks Metro Park.

Seriously, this race was tough. Really tough. But it was also a really beautiful course. Seriously, if you’re looking for some quality fall hiking, you need to go to Highbanks. Absolutely gorgeous. And the weather was perfect. A little breezy, but not horribly cold. In different circumstances, this might have turned out to be one of my favorites. But there were some issues for me…

1. I still haven’t exactly been training properly. 10 miles a week is a good week for me, and that’s all on flat paved areas. I ran some hills. Once. Last week. For about 30 minutes.  Not enough to prepare one’s self for this:

That's right. Almost 200ft elevation change. In the first 2 miles. No joke.

One of the hills is so steep, it’s actually stairs. In the middle of the woods. Just prior to the 2 mile marker, which if I remember correctly, was right at the top of those stairs. Only doing the Stairmaster can prepare you for that sort of torment. And then, around mile 3 and mile 4 the course overlapped, and we got to do 2 rather steep hills twice. Just. Plain. Mean.

2. Whoever designed this course is a mean spirited person. Not only were the hills killer, they made us run past the finish line, not once, but twice. That’s just cruel.

3. I was on my own for this one. Hubby wasn’t feeling very well that morning, and looked really pathetic sitting on the chair waiting for me to be ready to go. I told him if he really didn’t want to go he didn’t have to, and he really didn’t want to. So I went on my own. This was the first time that I didn’t have anybody with me at all. I’ve always had either Mom or Hubby and sometimes both. There have also been times that some friends have come out to cheer me on.  Not having anybody there made it kinda lonely. No one to chat with before hand. No one waiting for me to stumble run by to take my picture and urge me on. No one waiting for me at the finish line. And definitely no one able to drive me home so that my angry legs could rest. It really emphasized the importance of having that support. I know that there were people who knew I was racing, and were wishing me well, but it’s just not the same without someone there with you. Thankfully, there were plenty of encouraging volunteers! As always, the volunteers at this race were always ready with words of encouragement as I went by. It also helped to see a familiar face at the very end to help me dig deep to finish as well as I did (Thanks Steph!). It’s one thing to go on everyday runs alone, but I really prefer having someone to share race day excitement with.

Also, since Hubby stayed home, that meant that I had no photographer. Boo. So we staged photos at home afterwards.

Wearing shorts in the middle of November. That's right, I'm hardcore.

4. I forgot my watch. Again.

That is a sad, sad face. For many different reasons.

It’s going to be hard to convince the Hubby that I need a fancy Garmin watch when I can’t even remember to wear the cheap $3 one. Fail.

It was hard, and a bit lonely, but it was a really beautiful course. Maybe next year I can con a few friends to go with me…

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: Buckeye Classic 10K 2011

  1. Great job! I bet it felt great to finish such a tough course.

    Wow, what a great place for the course overlap. That sucks you had to run past the finish a few times before actually getting to finish. I’m running a loop races in a few months where I’ll cross the finish line nine times before actually finishing. That’s going to suck.

    My friend Sara volunteered at the Buckeye Classic today. She may have given you your medal! She coaches a 13:00 pace group in Columbus, so maybe you can buddy up with her and those gals. Check her out: http://www.wordstorunby.com/

    • nikimiller says:

      Thanks! It did feel really good, especially when I found out that I was still under 1:30, even with all those damn hills!

      I think I saw Sara at the finish line (I totally stalk follow her blog! She’s such a great inspiriation), but there were several people there and I didn’t get a chance to say Hi. I’m hoping to join with MIT this winter to prep for my first half, so hopefully I will make lots of new running friends!

  2. […] Buckeye Classic 10K. The one that handed me my ass. Or would if I would just run more hills. And where I forgot to wear my watch. Right…. And the one that I didn't take any pictures for […]

Leave a Reply

