Top 5 Reasons Why Running in the Winter is Going to Suck

1. I don’t do cold. Much like I don’t do mornings. There is nothing appealing about not being able to feel my fingers or toes. Or my face.

2. I fall down. A lot. For no apparent reason, sometimes. Ask around. It’s true.

3. The complete and utter lack of daytime.  It’s dark before I go to work. It’s dark before I leave work. Sometimes, it’s dark while I’m at work. No good.

4. I’m not a ‘layers’ person. If I have to have a tee-shirt, a long sleeve shirt, a sweatshirt, and a jacket on to maintain my core body temperature, in my mind, there are bigger problems.

5. Walking paths are not usually well kept during the winter. Since I have neither a treadmill, nor a gym membership, this is problamatic for me. See #2 for more.

You only get 5 cause that’s all I could come up with for now.  I’m sure I’ll think of more as it gets closer. In the mean time, I suppose I should enjoy the nearly perfect fall weather when I can get it.

The road from Dornbirn to the mountain village...

Can you spot the runner? No? That's because they've already slid off the bridge into the icy ravine below...

Any additional reasons you can think of?

Leave a Reply

