Greetings from Slackerville

I have been unapologetically lazy this week. No running since my race a little over a week ago. No working out of any sort. The only reason my house is a little cleaner is because of people coming over to check on the beasts, and I didn’t want to be judged too harshly. I have sat around doing nothing more than rotting my brain in front of the television during the times that I was not at work. Which may not really be all that much time after all.

Anyway, during my lazy week (I know there’s the ‘Lazy Song’, but can it really apply to more than just one day?) when I wasn’t doing much, I was thinking about running. Thinking about my last race, and the Race Recap that needs to be written. Thinking about the other handful of races that I ran prior to starting this blog that need Race Recaps. Thinking about the races that I have coming up, including one this friday. Thinking about all the races that I would like to attempt at some point in the future. Thinking about what I really want to achieve with this whole running thing. Thinking about what I’m going to do as the weather changes and my enthusiasm starts to take a dive.

The good news is that my thinking has been somewhat productive. I’ve got plans for the future. Races I want to run, places I want to go, goals I want to achieve, accessories I want to buy…

And the break this past week was nice. I am a repeat offender in the “burn-out” category. Burn out from work, from various commitments, sometimes just burn out from life in general. I work two jobs, have pets (and a husband) to take care of, have families that want to spend time together, have friends to try and catch up with (some of whom I will only see a couple of times a year, despite the fact that we still live in the same town), social events I want to take part in (haven’t been to a Reds game yet this year, probably won’t get to a Bengals game this year) (that last one might not be a bad thing…), hobbies that I would like to keep up with, blah, blah, blah. The list goes on and on. By the time I get a day off, that day has already been booked for some event or family get-together, or some such thing months ahead of time. I can’t remember the last time I just had a day off. From everything. Nowhere to be, nothing that had to be done.

So even though this past week there were a lot of things going on, and I can’t take a physical vacation, I took a mental vacation. I was only checked in when I had to be, and the rest of the time I spent thinking. About me and what I want and how I’m going to get it.

The bad news (at least for me) is that now it’s time to get off my ass, and start putting thoughts into actions. A couple of the blogs that I stalk read on regular basis suggest putting together a “Goal Board.” You put things on it that motivate or inspire you, and you put it somewhere that you can always see it, and it serves as a reminder to get off your ass of the things that you want to achieve. I’m thinking I might try to put one of these together. Something to do during my next lazy week…

Leave a Reply

