Finally! Making progress the slow way

Last night I finally had a decent run. It wasn’t very fast, still hanging around that 15 minute/mile mark. But it felt better than the last few that I’ve done. And I think I know why.

I’m a pretty competitive person. Ask anybody who knows me. Somehow, even though I’ve never really run before, I feel that I should be able to train like I’m a professional. I can remember actually being athletic, and good at sports. It quickly becomes very discouraging when I can’t do what I think I should be able to do. It’s the same thing with strength training. I actually really like lifting weights, there’s just something very satisfying about the way I feel doing it, and being able to do it.  But I want to go right back to the weights and reps that I used to be able to do, and I inevitably get down on myself when I can’t. This leads to spiraling down into knowing that I’ll ultimately feel better if I put the time in, but getting discouraged every time I try to start again. It’s a vicious cycle, and it’s really hard to get out of.

Last week, my plan didn’t finish out the way I had planned. Most days went ok, I did get in 2 runs, a walk during lunch one day, but I only did a strength workout once. That’s disappointing for me. That’s the part that I think will benefit me the most. I get the muscle building, which makes me stronger, burns more calories, and ups my metabolism. And I just feel better when I do it. I’ve got a handful of dvds to choose from, but my favorites are Bob and Jillian’s. Not the actual Biggest Loser ones, but their own videos.  When I was trying to lose weight for my wedding, I went with Jillian. Even in dvd form, she is merciless. The video I used at that time “30 Day Shred” has 3 levels that you progress up. I did that work out almost everyday for 5-6 weeks and I never made to level 3.

I love Bob and Jillian from the Biggest Loser. They are my kind of crazy, and I just can’t get enough of them.

I’ve also tried doing workouts found in magazines. One of the better ones for me was one I got from Muscle and Fitness Hers. It’s a magazine specifically for body builder types, but still had a lot of good all around information. They were doing a weight loss competition and had a beginner’s workout that ramped up after a few weeks. That was a good workout, but like everything else, I derailed after a couple of weeks when I wasn’t where I thought I should have been.

Lately, I’ve been going with Bob. The video that I have from him is specifically strength training. It is not the high intensity interval training that Jillian mostly does. It is straight up lifting weights, but you are moving the entire time. Only a couple of water breaks, otherwise you are moving from one move right into another. I love it when I do it. Here’s the thing. This dvd has 2 levels, the beginner level and the “you’re going to cry blood” Big Boy level. I am hesitant to admit this out loud in case Bob somehow hears me, but … I’ve done the beginner level a few times now, and even though I am sweating quite a bit by the end, the next day I hardly feel like I’ve done a workout. This tells me that it’s time to move up to the serious level. he first level is 20 minutes long, the Big Boy version is an hour.

All of a sudden, 60 minutes worth of lifting weights sounds like an awful long time….

Really though, the actual hard part is not continuing to quit just because I can’t currently do what I used to be able to do. Knowing that I because I used to be able to do something really just means that I can do it again if I put in the effort.

When I truely need a proper ass-kicking...

When he says he isn't really the nice one, he means it

 

 

 

 

Or something like that.

Leave a Reply

