Decisions, Decisions…

After some consideration, and a little looking at my calender, here is what I have come up with as my plan for the next week:

Monday night (last night)– Last softball game- This is usually workout enough as it is, I always come home feeling wiped out.

Tuesday night– Strength night- this is something I have been neglecting as it is, so I’m going to try to do at least 2 of these each week.

Wednesday daytime– I have to work that evening, so early in the day (early for me anyhow) I will put in a 3 mile run.

Thursday night– Since I’m working wednesday night, there will not be any early morning anythings, so instead I will try another strength training night.

Friday morning– Here it is. Time to retry the “get up at the ass crack of dawn and go run” plan. I will consider anything faster than a 15 min/mile pace acceptable at that time of morning.

Saturday– Saturday is an off day. No work or other responsibilities.  Right now the plan is to get up somewhat early to go check out the race course for the Columbus 1/2 Marathon 10k that I’ll be doing in 2 weeks.  On my birthday. 

So that’s the plan. I’ve put it out there for everyone to see, so feel free to give me hell if you find out that I didn’t do it.

I’ve also had to make some decisions about races. Specifically about the Columbus Marathon in October. I had seriously considered trying to do the half marathon. I’ll have done a couple quarters, a couple 10k’s, and a handful of 5k’s by then, so I was thinking that I could probably do it. I’ve had some friends also tell me that they think that I could do it no problem. That’s very encouraging, but I had my doubts. I was thinking that I would wait and see how Emerald City went. If I put in a good showing there, then I would feel a little more confident about tackling the half in october.  Seemed like a good plan.  Except that I am a cheap bastard. As I got to looking at the registration fees, if I wait that long, I’m going to have to pay more than I really want to for something that I’m not 100% sold on. Had I registered early on, it’s not so bad. The registration fees for the Columbus Marathon are very resonable compared to some others that I’ve seen (like Disney). I’m just a little too not-convinced that I can do it and have fun, instead of hating myself about half way through. Plus I need more time to actually train properly. Therefor, the new plan is that I am not going to do the Columbus Marathon, and instead am going to focus on training for the Capital City 1/2 Marathon in May. That’s the one Mom and I started on this year, so I think it will be appropriate to upgrade to doing half marathons there.

But first, I’d better get that whole training thing under control…

 

3 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions…

  1. Audra says:

    Impressive running schedule!!! I need to get back at it! The Flying Feather is really good, plus a bottle of wine at end 🙂 !!!

    • nikimiller says:

      Thanks! I’ve always been from the ‘go big or go home’ camp, plus, if there’s always something coming up, maybe I’ll be able to stay a little more consistent.
      I’ve heard really good things about the Flying Feather,so I’m looking forward to it!

  2. […] talked Hubby into it a few weeks ago. You might remember that I decided not to run the half marathon this year. I wasn’t being consistent enough, and 13.1 miles still felt like […]

Leave a Reply

