Have you seen my time?

I’m not really sure where I misplaced it, but I cannot seem to find time.

Time to run. Time to clean. Time for a strength workout. Time to walk the dog. (don’t worry, they have a backyard to play in, but it’s not quite the same is it?) Time to read the book that was loaned to me a few weeks ago. Time to watch my shows. Time to play my video games. (the new Batman is going to be out before I know it!)(Yes, I’m a geek.)( Deal.)

Do you want to know just how much running I’ve gotten in this past week? 2 miles. Not very good ones either. And guess what else? I have a 5k tomorrow morning. Not ideal.  I mentioned to my hubby that I didn’t really train before deciding to do the Capital City 1/4 Marathon. His response? “I don’t think that’s the way you’re supposed to be doing it though.”  And, damn him, he’s right. It’s not. I haven’t exactly trained for any of the races I’ve done. Maybe a day or two of 3 mile runs each week. Nothing particularly thought out, just I should get out and run on this day or that day. But I haven’t really made that happen. Not the best way to be doing this. Not very good for my sense of accomplishment. Sure, I’ve gone out and run some races, which is more than most people will ever bother doing, but is it really such a big deal if I’m just kind of half-assing it?

I just don’t know.

Every week I say I’m going to do better. But I have such a hard time making solid plans and then sticking to them. That’s the hard part. Things come up, I don’t feel like it, I’m tired, I have to do other things (which also generally don’t get done). Today was ‘clean up the bedroom’ day. As I was going through my clothes, and pulling out the things that don’t really fit anymore, I came across all the workout clothes that I bought about this time last year that no longer fit. Some of them my husband doesn’t remember ever seeing.

What an epic fail is that?

So tonite, I’m going to bed early. Tomorrow I’m getting up at the ass crack of dawn and running the Ohio State Fair 5k. I’m going to go to work afterwards (after showering of course). I’m going to come home, and I’m going to take a long hard look at my calender for the next week.  And come Hell or high water (and it’s Ohio, so I’ll probably get both) I am going to get in 3 proper training runs this week. The Columbus 1/2 Marathon is in 2 more weeks, and the Emerald City 1/4 Marathon is 3 weeks after that. Making it up as I go just isn’t going to cut it anymore.

It’s time to get on it, and track down my time.

Leave a Reply

